Skip Navigation LinksSFCC Home Page Courses & Programs Program Websites Pre-majors/Transfer Programs

Pre-Majors/Transfer Programs

Because the first two years of college are spent primarily meeting college general education requirements, Spokane Falls Community College offers several options available to freshman and sophomore students who plan to transfer to a four-year institution.

The community college degree that offers the most direct route for transfer is the Associate of Arts (AA/DTA) degree. This degree is a direct transfer agreement accepted by all of Washington's public four-year institutions and most four-year private institutions. It constitutes the first two years of work toward a bachelor's degree. These lower-division courses concentrate on the broad general education components of the degree.

Pre-major programs of study follow the AA/DTA requirements, focusing on courses relevant to the discipline of interest. It is important to consult with an advisor to ensure that requirements are met for the four-year institution to which you plan to transfer.

In addition to the A.A. degree, SFCC offers an Associate of Science Transfer (AS-T) degree for students majoring in science-related disciplines who wish to transfer as juniors to four-year institutions in Washington. SFCC also offers an Associate of Fine Arts degree (AFA) in art, drama and music.

More information about degree requirements can be viewed on our Degrees and Certificates index. Or call an advisor at (509) 533-3525.